Menu Close


The quartet of magnificent musicians, The Tedesca Quartet, are due to perform a free lunchtime concert on Wednesday February 24 at Loughborough University’s Hope Auditorium following their high demand for performances from music societies throughout the country.

The exclusively promising performance lead by the talented individuals is due to start at 12:30pm at the Cope Auditorium, and will most certainly not be one to be missed.

Photo Credit: Tedesca Quartet
Photo Credit: Tedesca Quartet

Exceptionally talented violinist Nic Fallowfield welded the quartet together following his skills in music, conducting and teaching.

The co-leader of the English String Orchestra is joined by fellow experienced musicians: violinist Clare Bhabra, viola player Richard Muncey and cellist Jenny Curtis.

Between them, the quartet harmonise a range of skills from orchestras all over the country, including the BBC Philharmonic, The London Festival Orchestra, Opera North and Orchestra of the Swan.

The individuals are also each leaders, co-leaders, co-founders and professors in the art of music and orchestra, promising a mind-blowing performance to anyone attending.


Richard Muncey, the viola player in the quartet, plays on an English viola that dates back to 1851 and was crafted by S. A. Forster.

Playing alongside him cellist Jenny Curtis studied at the Royal Northern College of Music, where she was awarded many prizes and scholarships.

The array of talent in the quartet is only excelled further by Clare Bhabra who, after studying music at Birmingham University, joined her first orchestra at the age of 22.


The concert is set to begin with Haydn’s String Quartet in Eb Op.64 no.6. Known as the Tost Quartets, this piece is one of a set of 6 string quartets that were composed in 1790.

The piece was created by Haydn but later pushed towards production by Hungarian violinist Johann Tost, leader of the second violins of Haydn’s orchestra from 1783 until 1788.

The second magical piece to be performed is the Brahm’s String quartet no.1 in C minor Op.51 no.1. Written and completed in Tutzing, Bavara during the summer of 1873 the piece was published as a one of a pair of quartets dedicated to Brahms close friend Theodor Billroth.


The concert offers an opportunity to view and listen to some of the country’s leading and most expert musicians for no price at all.

As well as this, audiences are sure to be entertained due to the beautiful pieces that are selected to be played.

For more information head to:


By Emma Smith

RAF Advertisement